Thursday, October 05, 2006

And Now for Something Completely Different

This day in 1969, the brilliant comedy program Monty Python's Flying Circus premiered in Great Britain. How best to celebrate your love of spam, the larch, dead parrots, and the Spanish Inquisition? Well, you can certainly start at the library.

Perhaps you can try these books by and about the creators:

Idle, Eric. The Greedy Bastard Diary: A Comic Tour of America
Idle, Eric. The Road to Mars: A Post-Modern Novel (perfect for fans of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy)
Gilliam, Terry. The Adventures of Baron Munchausen
Jones, Terry. Douglas Adams's Starship Titanic
Jones, Terry. Crusades
The Pythons
Monty Python Speaks!
McCabe, Bob. Dark Knights and Holy Fools (about the art and films of Terry Gilliam)

Our friend Terry Jones has also penned these juvenile historical novels and fairy tales:

The Lady and the Squire, The Knight and the Squire, Fantastic Stories, and Fairy Tales

Maybe you would prefer these videos..."guaranteed to break the ice at parties!"

Monty Python and the Holy Grail, Monty Python's Flying Circus DVD Set 2, Monty Python's The Meaning of Life

No comments: