Friday, October 15, 2010

What We're Reading - The Poacher's Son

As a long-time fan of mystery novels, I’m always thrilled to discover a new author. I recently had the pleasure of reading The Poacher’s Son, an impressive mystery series debut by journalist Paul Doiron. The story is set in the woods of Maine, where main character Mike Bowditch is a rookie game warden. Bowditch’s life and career are turned upside down when his father Jack, a notorious poacher, is accused of murder. Doiron blends mystery, outdoor adventure and a story about personal relationships to create a page-turner that has received rave reviews. I highly recommend The Poacher’s Son, especially to readers who enjoy authors like Nevada Barr or C. J. Box. Paul Doiron is definitely an author to watch; I'm looking forward to reading future books in the Mike Bowditch series.

Thanks to Patrice for the review.

No comments: