Wednesday, July 16, 2014

People's Choice 2014: The creep factor

Summer Reading Club for Grown-ups allows Burbank adults to share what they're reading with their peers in the community. If you are signed up, you can see some of the book reviews at the log-in site for the book club; but we thought we would also feature some of them here, on the blog. Here are some creepy reads for you to check out!

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea, by April Genevieve Tucholke
Reviewed by Llyr H.

Interesting first in a series about a brother and sister who rent out their guesthouse while their parents are off, as per usual, gallivanting around Europe. River, the boy who rents from them, is mysterious and interesting, and Violet has feelings she has never really felt before. Is he simply a charming boy? or is he something more, as grim and horrible things start happening in their small town. I enjoyed the characters' progression and the main characters continually thinking about their grandmother, her past and secrets, but it ramped up toward the end a bit too fast. Although the novel was long, I could see it being a bit longer. Good for those who like suspense, romance and a touch of horror.


The Day After Tomorrow, by Allan Folsom
Reviewed by Jeanne G.

This book was recommended to me right before the author passed away. I read it and found myself unable to put it down. An American doctor finds trouble when he believes he sees the man who killed his father. The ending is terrifying, and I had a nightmare after I finished the book. Despite the nightmare, I highly recommend it!


Darkfever, by Karen Marie Moning
Reviewed by Rachel L.

Darkfever is about Mac, a Southern girl who discovers that her sister was murdered while studying abroad in Dublin, Ireland. After the police make no progress, Mac decides to fly herself to Dublin to search for the killer and for answers to all the questions surrounding Alina's mysterious death. Along the way, Mac stumbles upon the world of the Unseelie; mythical and awful creatures that couldn't possibly be real, but they are. Mac also finds information from the intriguing Jericho Barrons.

I loved the world-building in this book. This reminded me a bit of Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere: the idea that there is a hidden world right in front of us that only special people are able to see. I've been to Dublin myself, and my experience of it was a light, friendly city that was magical in a magnificent way and not a dark city as it was described.

Incredibly written, incredible plot. I highly recommend to readers who like Urban Fantasy and Mystery books.


The Book of You, by Claire Kendal
Reviewed by Helen P.

The L.A. Times just reviewed this first novel. Don't start it if you haven't enough time to finish! It will keep you in your chair. Clarissa is stalked by Rafe, a college professor, who, in spite of repeated discouragement, won't leave her alone. When she begins six weeks of jury duty, it is a daily relief to be free of him and especially when she meets another jury member and falls for him. But this brings other problems as Rafe continues his pursuit and Clarissa hasn't told anyone of her fears...



  
Watch the blog for more reading "shares" from the adult summer reading club! And be sure to check out all the activities and programs the library is featuring for YOU this summer!




No comments: